corsasport.co.uk

Corsa Sport » Message Board » General Chat » Opinions Needed - Proposed new driver scheme (long post)

New Poll
  Subscribe | Add to Favourites

You are not logged in and may not post or reply to messages. Please log in or create a new account or mail us about fixing an existing one - register@corsasport.co.uk

There are also many more features available when you are logged in such as private messages, buddy list, location services, post search and more.

Author Opinions Needed - Proposed new driver scheme (long post)
blebo

User status: Offline
2nd May 08 at 11:56   View User's Profile U2U Member Reply With Quote

I apologise for the length of this post but I really need to hear other people’s views on this subject as it is something I am seriously thinking about proposing to the senior management at my work.

As you know I am a Police Officer and I am serious about increasing driver ability and reducing road deaths and injuries.

I am basing what I am proposing on how I used to feel when I was a young driver and what I know now that I am a Police officer.

Q1. How to you feel when you hear about schemes launched by the government to re habilitate criminals? The one that sticks in my mind was several years ago a bunch of TWOCers were given cash to set up and run a racing team, whilst honest, law abiding me could barley afforded to run my “get to work” car and racing was something I dreamt of at night

Q2 what is the general opinion amongst the masses in relation to the standard of Police Drivers. I am not talking about years ago as the training has changed in the last five or so a year which means that all Officers are trained to advanced level to be a response driver (lights and sirens). `How would young driver feels about being given the change to learn advanced driving skills by a trained police driver. I.e. advanced corning, observation overtaking etc.